View 3 photos, or upload your photo.
Huajiang Scenic Spot borders Zhenning County to the northeast, and it borders three counties (Qinglong, Xingren and Zhenfeng) to the southwest by the Beipanjiang River. The scenic spot is contiguous with Gangwu Township to the northwest and Bangui Township to the southeast. The canyon has a total length of 79 km, an average width of 3.8 km, and an area of 300 sq. km. The highest peak in the scenic spot is 1850 meters high, while the lowest point is 370 meters high at the confluence of the Beipanjiang and Dabanghe River. There are five sections in the scenic spot: Jiashan, the Iron Chain Bridge, Xiagua Village, Panjiang Bridge and the Ancient Extinct Life Fossils.
Viewing the mountain: Tourists can have a nice view of the whole mountain at the Huangyangpo Mountain Viewing Platform (Guanjiang Tai). Layers of mountain stretch far away with high apexes sprinkling in between. The mountains form a picturesque scene against the red rocks, the white cliffs, the villages, the paddy fields and the winding roads up the mountain.
Viewing the Canyon at Jiaozi Ridge: The ridge is located over the Beipanjiang River. It takes about 40 minutes to walk along the ancient post road to the riverside. The drop from the ridge to the riverside is 580 meters with a slope of 85 degrees. It is a spectacular view to see the whole valley and sense the essence of the “crack of the earth”.
The Ancient Post Roads: There are two ancient post roads in the Huajiang Scenic Spot; one is in Gan’erpan and the other in Falang. The post roads were first built during the Qin (221-206 BC) and Han (206 BC-220 AD) Dynasty. The ancient post roads were the only paths for people from Chang’an to get to Guizhou and Yunnan.
Huajiang Iron Chain Bridge: The bridge was firstly built in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644). The bridge is 3 meters wide, 72 meters long and 70 meters high. It looks like a rainbow hung upside down between the two sides of the Beipanjiang River.
The Stone Inscription: After passing the iron chain bridge, tourists can see many stone inscriptions and epigraphy along the riverside; people can learn about the history of Huajiang Canyon and the history of the iron chain bridge while they appreciate the handwriting of famous Chinese calligraphers.
The Spring: There is a spring beside the iron chain bridge. Water in this spring is sweet and flows all year around in rain or a drought. Tourists who come to the iron chain bridge and the Flying Water spot usually come here to drink the sweet spring water.
The Flying Water Cliff: It is located 500 meters from the lower branch of the river under the iron chain bridge. The cliff is 65 meters high and 28 meters wide. Water springing out of the cliff is from an underground river. The water flows all year around, forming a small waterfall, which dives into two clear deep pools. Rare and unique stones can be found along the riverside; some of the stones are covered with moss or other plants.
The Crack between the Cliffs: It is located at the lower branch of Huajiang Canyon. The canyon turns 90 degrees left sharply at this point. There are cliffs about 1000 meters high on both sides. Looking from the bottom up it seems as if the the cliffs almost touch each other; only a gleam of light is visible.