China Travel Logo

The Grottoes of Faquan Temple

Last updated by chinatravel at 2015/11/29

Brief Introduction:

The Grottoes of Faquan Temple is also called Hongshan Temple. So far 36 caverns have been remained, among which 4 caverns house central square columns and 20 caverns are very important. According to the research from the No.29 to No. 33 Caverns, it is approved that the earliest caverns were excavated in the Northern Wei Dynasty. Over the Tang, Song, Yuan, Ming, Qing Dynasty and the Republic China, The Grottoes of Faquan Temple experienced many changes, built and ruined several times, and enlarged its scale until present appearance.

The Grottoes are distributed on the east, north and west cliffs of a ravine which is about 1000 meters long and 150 meters wide. Surrounded by green mountains, a spring flows from the ravine. From the south entrance to Faquan Temple, the Grottoes are divided into the east side and west side by ravine.

There are the following scenic spots from the south to the north on the west side: Yaowang Temple, Fanwang Palace, Yanyang Palace, Damo Palace, Guhun Temple, Guanying Palace, Zhishun Palace, Dugang Temple and Lingyun Tower; from the north to the south on the east side are: Dizang Grotto, Tianwang Cave, Wuliang Buddha Grotto, Jueshi Pavilion and Hongwen Pavilion.


Solo Adventure Tips:


How to Get There?
If you are in Baiyin City, firstly you can take a bus at the bus station to Jingyuan County, and then change a middle bus or mini bus to Yangshaogoukou. The fare is about 75 yuan.

Ticket Price:

Opening Hours:
8:00 a.m.-18:00 p.m.

More Tips:
Accommodation: Tourists can live in nearby hotels or go back Jingyuan County.

Information accuracy:

We try to make the information on China Travel accurate when we write/edit it. If you find any outdated information, please inform us.