Ranzhuang Tunnel Warfare Heritages
Brief introduction to the scenic spot：
Ranzhuang Tunnel Warfare Heritages is a very important warfare ruins in the north China battlefield in the anti-Japanese war under the leading of Chinese Communist Party.
After ‘the July 7th incident’ in 1937, the Japanese invaders set foot in north China. To protect themselves and defend the foreign invaders, Ranzhuang people started to dig the tunnel which worked up from the one-exit tunnel to tri-exits one, multi-exits one and warfare tunnel.
In 1942, the Japanese invaders launched ‘the May 1st mop-up’ in the method of ‘steady human walls enclosure’ and ‘track-and-column combing’ and executed the ‘burning all, killing all and looting all’ policy. To save the revolutionary power and defeat the enemy, and under the leading of CCP, Ranzhuang people carried out the tunnel war. As the war requires, the tunnel extended step by step and finally became a warfare tunnel net as long as 160 meters. It is house to house, village to village, corresponding up and down and freely advancing and retreating. The tunnel entrances are cleverly devised; they may be the wall, the cattle trough, the Kang surface, the kitchen sink, the wardrobe and the well, etc. And quite a few fortifications built here and there, such as the millstone, the blockhouse, the counter, the baked-roll stove, the stone fortress, the high building fortification and the temple fortification. To prevent from the enemy’s wrecking, the tunnel for attacking set up the platform trap doors, pitfalls and waterproof equipments. So the tunnel became the underground Green Wall which is fit for fighting and hiding, attacking and defending, advance and retreat freely.
In the anti-Japanese war and in the war of liberation, to cooperate with the armed worker brigade and open war army, Ranzhuang people and soldiers made full use of the tunnel to struggle against the rivals for 157 times and killed 2100 foes. For this reason Ranzhuang has been honored as ‘the tunnel warfare model village’.
Ranzhuang tunnel warfare heritages preserved its former appearance of villages in Jizhong Plain in the 30 and 40 ages and the tunnel and various battle fortifications built in that time. The total protected area is 300,000 sq.m., of which the key protected area occupies 2000 sq.m. .
In the August of 1959, the Ranzhuang Tunnel Warfare Memorial Hall was built and open to the world.