Last updated by chinatravel at 2015/5/5
It has another name, Wenfeng Pagoda. In 37 of Qianlong of Qing Dynasty (1772 AD), Zhengjiaotai, Zhizhou ( region-level governor) of Bozhou first builds the tower of five stories in order to spread knowledge. In 17 of Jiaqing (1812 AD), Hetianqu, a squire of Bozhou, invested to add another two stories to it to make it a seven-story exquisite pagoda. Because the pagoda is built around Xuejiage, the family temple of Xuehui, Langzhong of Kaogong Si( a Bureau in feudal China), Li Bu ( the board of civil office in feudal China) in Ming Dynasty, so the local people call it Xuege Pagoda.This tower is brick structure and in attic architectural image. It is in the shape of a right cone octagon. It altogether has seven stories.the height of it is 34.15 meters, and the perimeter of the first story is 23.36 meters. Eight gigantic bluestones lay the foundation for pedestal of the tower. The exterior corners of each story are wood-imitating square columns built by laying bricks. Above the column, it is brick Fang ( a square wood connects two columns). Above Fang, it is the tower eave, while under Fang, bracket set, animals and birds, and flowers of brick carving serve as decoration. Inside the pagoda, it is in the form of folding upward inside the wall. On the inner wall of each floor from the second one to the sixth one,there is a niche used for depositing the deity which faces the south. On the top of the tower, there are an octagonal upturned eave, upturned angles and drooped ridge, jingling windbell, and exquisitely carved pantile roof. The spire of the tower is iron lotus pedestal. On the pedestal, a tower temple made in the shape of a gourd rises straight up into the skyStory about the Scenery In the reigning period of Wuzong of Ming Dynasty, Xuehui, a notable person in Bozhou, whose Zi is Junmi, and Hao is Mr. Xiyuan becomes Jinshi in 9 of Zhengde( 1514 AD.) He is appointed to preside over the affairs of Libu( the Board of Punishment in feudal China.) Besides, he is also appointed Langzhong of Kaogong Si( a Bureau in feudal China), Li Bu ( the board of civil office in feudal China.) Xuehui has built his home, Xuege Pagoda here. In the years of Chongzhen of Ming Dynasty, Xuefengxiang, great-grandson of Xuehui, has written four volumes of History of Peony which is the monograph of studying peony in ancient China. Xuefengxiang, Shaoqing of Lusi ( an officer in feudal China), is good at writing poems and calligraphy. Because the Xue family is prominent for a time and this tower is close to Xuejiage, so the posterity often call Wenfeng Pagoda as Xuege Pagoda. After that, the temple of the Xue family becomes desolate. In 3 of Jiaqing of Qing Dynasty ( 1798 AD), Liming, Dusi of Bozhou, rebuilt Xuege into a temple by piling earth into a mountain on the original spot of Xuege. Stairs are made for climbing the mountain. The rooms are bent, corridors are different, the building is dangerously high, and the temple is quiet. This mountain is renamed Kwan-yin Mountain. It is claimed a scenic spot of ancient Bozhou that ime.
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
You may get there by taking a taxi.
Recommended length of time for visit: half an hour
Top Things to Do in Bozhou
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps