Beida Si Mosque
Last updated by tracy1028 at 2015/4/28
Situated in the center of the Hui Ethnical Group settlement which is in the Middle Jiefang Road of Cangzhou City, Beida Si Mosque is a key cultural preservation in Hebei province, with its fame leveled with the Guanzhou Huaisheng Temple, Quanzhou Mosque and Jining Mosque. The Mosque was primarily built in the late of Jianwen Period of the Ming Dynasty with a covering area of 8,000 square kilometers, its floor space of 3,200 square kilometers, among which its great prayer hall built with wood and bricks, covers an area of 1,350 square kilometers. It was completely finished in 1420 after 18 years’ construction, and the person who mainly responsible for the construction was the 16th principal with the family of Wu, who was the ancestor of A’ Hong named Wu Xuemeng former in charge of the mosque. At that time one of his relatives was an officer as “Dongsi” in the palace and was given 40 hectares of land, with the money pooled by the general Hui people, the mosque was built.
The gate of the Beidasi Mosque is in the South facing the North. The mosque hides in the greens with the branches of the Chinese scholar trees bending over the roof. The Prayer Hall, formed by the fore, central and back hall and long ancient shacks, is quite grand. The mosque has several roofs and every roof is decorated with “five backs and six animals”, which are quite delicately carved, vividly. There are three wood pavilions with a special style in the back fairy pond. And the three pavilions, built with the middle one higher than the other two in its two sides, look like the back of camel, and also like a pen rack. Attracted by its great fame, many people from Islamic countries come for a visit or a pray.
Not far from the north of Beida Si Mosque there is Nun’s Mosque with antique architecture. Along the westward of Jiefang Road is the municipal cultural relic temple which is the only survived antique architecture preserving wooden framed arches structure of Ming Dynasty. Go on walking westward there is qingfeng building duplicated the antique architecture on the dike of canal. Walking northward along the eastern dike of canal there is Shengli Park built in honor of the 40th celebration of Cangzhou’s emancipation (In 1947 Cangzhou was liberated), with a major statue of 26.73 meters height affiliated by 6 groups of portrait sculptures that reproduce the intensive scene of Qingcang battle.
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
by bus within the city.
Top Things to Do in Cangzhou
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps