Baoguang (Divine Light) Temple, 18 km north of Chengdu, is supposed to have been built as early as Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220). It once was named "Dashi Temple" (Big Stone Temple) during Tang Dynasty. In 889, emperor of Tang Dynasty rebuilt the temple and renamed it "Baoguang Temple". It is the best-preserved Buddhist temple in Sichuan province. Covering an area of more than 90,000 square meters, the whole complex now consists of one pagoda, six halls and sixteen courtyards. Its major structures are built with some 400 stone pillars and decorated with figurines of birds and animals on their eaves and carvings of flowers and plumes on their doors and windows.
Sheli Pagoda (Buddhist Relics Pagoda):
Built in Tang Dynasty, the pagoda is 30 meter high with 13 floors. On each floor, there are 12 Buddha on each of four sides. The golden top is illuminated in the sunbeams, showing the extraordinary loftiness of the whole structure.
The original pagoda was a wooden one built in Eastern Han Dynasty. It was said that during the Huangchao Rebellion of Tang Dynasty, Emperor Xizong fled from Chang'an (present Xi'an) and hid in this temple. At one night, he accidentally found there was something shining under the pagoda. He immidiately ordered a digging and found Buddhist relics under the pagoda. The pagoda was then rebuilt and renamed as Sheli Pagoda.
Arhat Hall: Built in 1849 during Qing Dynasty, the hall contains 500 2m-high clay figurines representing Buddhist saints and disciples. Realistically sculptured, these arhats are different in respective facial expressions, gestures and costumes, reputed as one of the best-preserved sculpture groups of Qing Dynasty.