Dragon Claw Pagoda
Facing Zhou River on its east side, the Dragon-Claw Pagoda was also called White Tower, with an arched door leading to the mountain foot on the west mountain passage. With a white body and black eaves, the pagoda was made of bricks and stones and covers an area of 1,500 square meters. The octagonal pagoda tapers off to a iron crest with eight pinnacles. The arched windows of each floor are arrayed in different positions, above which are short and slightly up-turned eaves of six layers of black bricks. Four arched doors were separately built on southern, western, northern and eastern sides of the first floor with only the eastern door as an entry. Wooding buildings were built on each floor with wooden stairs spiral up to the top. The pagoda is 30meters tall with a 0.25-meter-high octagonal sumeru stand with a girth of 28 meters. According to research of Department of Cultural Relics, the pagoda was built in Tang Dynasty. In the 12th year of Emperor Qiannong’s reign(1747), there is the painting of Dragon-Claw Mountain in the additional printed edition“Records of Dazhou. Maps”. The pagoda was rebuilt in the 18th year of Emperor Jiaqing (1813) and in the 14th year of Emperor Guangxu (1888) in Qing Dynasty, which can be learned from the inscriptions on the bricks and the words on the beams of the 8th floor. The pagoda was approved as a unit of cultural relics under provincial protection.