Home > China Facts > China Overview > China in Brief

China in Brief

Last updated by fabiowzgogo at 2016/12/17

 Full Name: The People’s Republic of China (中华人民共和国)
State System: Socialist State
Location: east of Eurasia, Pacific West Bank
Land Area: 9,600,000 square kilometers
Capital: Beijing
Major Cities: Beijing, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Chongqing
National Day: October 1st
National Anthem: March of the Volunteers
Country Code: CHN
Official Language: Mandarin
Currency: Renminbi (RMB)
Time Zone: UTC+8
Political System: the system of people’s congress
State President: Xi Jinping
Party in Power: Chinese Communist Party
Population Size: 1,354,040,000 (2012)
Number of Nationalities: 56
Major Nationality: the Han nationality
Major Religions: Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, Christian
National Territorial Area: about 14,700,000 square kilometers
Per Capita GDP: 6170.70 U.S dollars (2012)
International Area Code: +86
Good Reputations: state of ceremonies, the nation of porcelains, the nation of silk
National Flag: the Five-Starred Red Flag

The National Flag of China

China's national flag

National Emblem: Tian’anmen (the Gate of Heavenly Peace) under five stars, encircled by ears of grain, with a gear wheel below

China's national Emblem

National Animal: giant pandas


Quintessence of Chinese Culture: Beijing Opera
Famous Universities: Peking University, Tsinghua University, Taiwan University, University of Hong Kong
The Largest Island: Taiwan Island
Ancient Cities: Xi’an, Nanjing, Luoyang, Beijing, Kaifeng, Hangzhou, Anyang, Zhengzhou
Neighboring Countries: Korea, Russia, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Kyrghyzstan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Laos, Burma, Vietnam, Nepal, India
Climate: monsoon characteristics, obvious continental climate, various climate types
Municipalities Directly Under the Central Government: Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin, Chongqing
Autonomous Regions: the Nei Mongol Autonomous Region, the Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, Tibet Autonomous Region, the Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
Special Administrative Region: Hong Kong, Macao
National Central Cities: Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Guangzhou
Special Economic Zones: Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Xiamen, Shantou, Hainan, Kashgar
Style of Cooking: Henan cuisine, Zhejiang cuisine, Sichuan cuisine, Shandong cuisine, Cantonese cuisine, Jiangsu Cuisine, Fujian cuisine, Hunan cuisine, Anhui cuisine
Famous Tourist Attractions: Tiananmen Square, Badaling Great Wall, the Imperial Palace, the Summer Palace, the Water Cube, Chengde Imperial Summer Resort, Hulunbuir Pasture Land, Shenyang Imperial Palace, the Bund, the Oriental Pearl Tower, Mount Huang, Mount Lu, Mount Tai, the Longmen Grottoes, the Three Gorges, the Potala Palace, figurines of soldiers and horses from the Qin Mausoleum
Traditional Festivals: Spring Festival, New Year’s Day, Lantern Festival, National Day, Dragon Boat Festival, Mid-Autumn Festival, Tomb-Sweeping Festival


Relax yourself with a Yangtze River Cruise