Huangze (Empress Wu Zetian) Temple
Huangze Temple, originally called "Manu temple" or "Chuanzhu Temple", traditionally is said to be built to commemorate Li Bing and his son. Li Bing was then chief of Sichuan prefecture. Because Wu Zetian was born here, its name was changed into Huangze Temple.
Existing Huangze Temple was built up in the Qing Dynasty. With its back leaning on Wulong Mountain, it faces Jialingjiang River. The building takes a power against the mountain, simple and unsophisticated, elegant and grand. It has big Buddha buildings, Ze Tian Hall, Small Nanhai Sea, Five Buddha Pavillion, and Lvzu Cabinet etc. The stone statue of seated Wu Zetian was preserved in Ze Tian Hall. It is Buddhist nun shaped, having precious hat looking dignifiedly solemn. There is a stone tablet in the 22nd year of Empror Meng Shuguang's reign (959 years) in the hall. On its facade is carved Records of Empress Ze Tian's new temple in Huangze temple of Lizhou Prefecture In Sichuan which is important textual material for proving Wu Zetian was born in Guangyuan.
Moya Stone inscriptions of Huangze Temple are engraved on stone precipices near the river. 1203 statues in Southern and Northern dynasties, Sui Dynasty, Tang dynasty and Song Dynasty are preserved here with the most famous one "picture of twelve procedures in raising silkworm and planting mulberry trees". Moreover, inside the temple there are a lot of original handwritings or paintings by celebrities including written inscription of classics by Yan Zhenqin in Tang dynasty, couplet by Guo Moruo, and the inscription by Song Qinging.