Located 5 kilometers northwest of Guilin city, the Reed Flute Cave is located highway up the Guangming Hill (Bright Hill). It gets the name from the reeds used for making flutes and pipes that grow at its entrance. The cave is regarded as the largest and most impressive cave in Guilin The cave is 240 meters long, and the length of the tour is about 550 meters offering a magic land of stalactites, stalagmites, stone pillars, stone curtains, birds, plants and animals in fantastic shapes and colors. One grotto called the Crystal Palace of the Dragon King can hold about 1000 people.
During the World War Two, the grotto once served as an air-raid shelter. Over 70 wall inscriptions from the Tang dynasty (618-907) have been found on the walls proving that the cave has been used extensively for many hundreds of years. The highlight of this cave is a great slab of white rock hanging from a ledge like a cataract, with a human-shaped stalactite opposite it. A legend says that visiting scholar tried to write a poem depicting the beauty of the cave. It took him so much time to find the right words that he finally turned to stone. Another story goes that the slab originally was the Dragon King's needle. The Monkey King used it as a weapon to defeat the dragon's army and left it in the cave. The cave was opened to public in 1962. Famed as the Palace of Natural Art, the cave is now equipped with artificial lighting system to emphasize the visual effect.