The Chaoyang Tower is located in the east end of Jiangzhong Road in Jianshui. It was the east gate tower of Jianshui Town. During the Yuanhe reign of the Tang Dynasty, an earth town was built here. In the 20th year of the Hongwu reign of the Ming Dynasty, it was changed into a brick town.
In the 22nd year of the Hongwu reign (A.D.1389), the Chaoyang Tower was built. The tower has the gable and hip roof with three eaves. It's 24.45 meters high, 26.8 meters wide and 12.31 meters deep. According to the record in the book named The Record of Jianshui Prefecture, the east gate tower is 100 Chi high. It towers up to the sky. People overlook the town from it. Masses of houses distribute in the town. The landscape is very beautiful. The sun rises from the east.
The whole town is bathed in sunlight. Watched in the distance, the tower is like the Huanghe Tower and the Yueyang Tower. A huge stele saying "Xiong Zhen Dong Nan" was hung in the east of the tower. It was written by Tu Rizhuo, a calligrapher of the Qing Dynasty. Another stele was hung in the west of the tower. It said "Fei Xia Liu Yun". The four words was the copy of the work of Zhangxu. The brushwork was rugged and powerful. There is an extant large bell in the tower. It's 2 meters high. It weights three to four tons. People can hear the bell in the distance.