China Travel Logo

Huaibei Travel Guide

Last updated by elysees at 2015/11/30

Huaibei Overview

As one of the nine prefectures-level cities in Anhui Province, Huaibei is a coal city, as well as one of the eight National Coal Bases in China. The Municipal People’s Government of Huaibei is in Xiangcheng, which is an ancient capital with a long history. It locates at the foot of Xiangshan Mountain in the north and at the bank of Tanshui River in the south. And it is the political, economic and cultural center of Huaibei City.  

Situated in northern Anhui Province, Huaibei City is located at the junction of Jiangsu, Henan, and Anhui. The lay of the land slopes from northwest to southeast. The boundless plain characterizes the main features of the terrain. The total area of the city is 2,725 square kilometers. And the population is 1.62 million. The farmland covers an area of 2.13 million mu (about 1420 square kilometer). And the mountain forest covers an area of 0.57 million mu (about 380 square kilometer), where there are precious gingkoes. It also has orchards of 35 thousand mu, which abound in peach, pear, apricot, apple, grape, plum, guava, persimmon and other fruits in temperate zone. The air is heavy with the aroma of the fruits on the plain area.

Huaibei has pleasant climate and abundant sunshine. It is an important production base for grain, cotton, livestock, silk worm and other agricultural and sideline products. It also has abundant mineral products. The thirteen ascertained resources include coal, iron, cobalt and kaolin, among which coal has the largest reserves. And it is one of the five coal production base in China.

There are beautiful mountains and rivers, as well as fantastic sights in Huaibei. Mount Xiang Forest Park, Laolongji Forest Park, together with the rare stones, old trees, numerous flowers, old temples and lakes have formed a beautiful landscape. Tourist can have a taste of the idyllic harmony among the clear water, green hills and the new city.

City Phone Code: 0561

Post Code: 235000

Nationality: Han, Hui, and Mongolian

Administrative Divisions:Suixi County, Xiangshan District, Duji District, and Lieshan District.