Haishen (God of the sea) Temple

Last updated by chinatravel at 2015/4/25

Haishen Temple is an old temple built for worshipping the god of the tide and the sea. It has a history as long as almost 300 years. In the eighth year of emperor Yongzheng’s reign (1729), the governor of Zhejiang ordered the temple to be built, and the project lasted for more than one year. Covering an area of over 26000 square meters, the temple has nine sections, all of which are of Qing Dynasty palace style and built regularly according to the custom of that time. The main hall is the greatest one; it was designed in accordance with the style of the Imperial Palace and the Taihe Palace (Hall of Supreme Harmony). In the halls there are many valuable inscriptions and engraved pictures of sea, water, clouds, god of the sea and so on, which would bring you into an ancient world showing how people regarded the sea and the God they believed in.  

Solo Adventure Tips:

Location:

How to Get There?
The tourist can take bus No.109 from Haining bus station and get off at the stop of Yangong scenic spot. It is available every 10 minutes. At weekends, the private-run non-stop buses to the spot are served in the tourist terminal center.

Ticket Price:

Opening Hours:
9:00-18:00

More Tips: