Ancient City Wall in Shouxian County
Shouxian is also called Shouchun. The Emperor of Chu Dynasty, Kaolie, moved his capital here in 241 BC. It has been used as county for 10 times, and always as the cantonal place. The ancient city owns strong groundwork and grand structure. It is well preserved up to now. At present, the city wall was rebuilt by Xu Jun in the reign of Emperor Ningsong 12th (1206) in Southern Song Dynasty. You can see the words “Jiankang Metropolis Xu Built” on the face of the brick. The flat surface of the ancient city assumes squareness. The perimeter of the city wall is 7.141 meters, its height is 8.3 meters, its bottom width is from 18 meters to 22 meters, and the top width is from 4 meters to10 meters. The wall was built by earth with brick on its outside. There is 2-meter-high barnacle base on the bottom o f the outside wall. Its whole body is inclined to the inside. Outside the city are trenches with about 60- meter width.
It was circled by Feishui in the north, Shouxi Lake in the west. There is an 8-meter- wide protective wall on the outside of the wall. The city has four doors: Yanyang in the east, Tongfei in the South, Dinghu in the west, and Jinghuan in the north. All the four doors are used to protect the city. The external of the West door is facing to the north and the external of the north door is facing to the west. the interior door and external door of the Eastern door are run parallel to each other which have the two functions of military defense and flood control relief. In 1958, it was listed as cultural and historic relics under county protection. At present, it was cultural and historic relics under province protection.