Last updated by chinatravel at 2014/10/28
Shengshui temple was first built in the reign of Emperor Xuantong (860-873) of Tang Dynasty (618-907) and repaired in 1009 (Song Dynasty) and 1662-1722 (Qing Dynasty). The temple got its name of Shengshui (holy water) because there is a spring behind the temple. The temple used to cover an area of 6,000 sq km and consist of 170 rooms. There still exist 5 halls and some affiliated buildings built in Ming (1368-1644) and Qing Dynasty (1616-1911). The east buildings, called Grand Temple, include Yuanjue Building, Cangjiang Building (the depository of Buddhist scriptures) and Daxiongbaodian (Hall of Sakyamuni). The west building, called Ancient Temple, is the Great Sympathy Hall (Dabei in Chinese). At the left side of Shengshui Temple is the cliff carving of Avalokitesvara, Goddess of Mercy with a thousand arms. The statue (in sitting posture) is 8 meters high and 8 meters wide and was carved in Song Dynasty (960-1279). The statue has loincloth in front of the chest and double-collared clothes hung on the body and wears coronet on his head. The statue has round face. Except the 2 hands holding each other in front of the chest, the other hands hold Buddhist musical instrument, such as sutra streamer and pagodas.
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
Top Things to Do in Neijiang
The Concian temple was first built in Northern Song Dynast… >> details
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps