Last updated by chinatravel at 2014/4/30
Guanghua Temple was built in the Southern Dynasties Chen Yongding Second year (AD 558), originally named as Jinxian Buddhist Nunnery. It was later enlarged to be a temple. In Tang Dynasty Jingyun second year (AD 711), Emperor Ruizong granted a name Lingyan Temple to it, which was written by famous calligraphist Liu Gongquan .In Song Dynasty Taiping Nation First year (AD 976), Emperor Song Tai Zong renamed it as Guanghua Temple.
Song Dynasty was the heyday of Guanghua Temple, when there were 10 institutes with 120 Buddhist nunneries under its command and over thousands of Buddhist monks. "the principal column of the hall and the eaves are connected strongly and the high space storey is numerous. The mountain door is like a crowded market full of pilgrims. The present buildings were rebuilt in the early years of Guang Xu of Qing Dynasty. Guanghua Temple is more than 32,000 square meters in total, the building area of which has already been up to more than 16,000 square meters. The axle wire of the Guanghua temple consists of a Wall facing the gate of a house, memorial archway, mountain door, assoiling pool, king hall, Mahavira Temple, law hall(the top of which is depositary of Buddhist texts), grandfather hall(the top of which is sleeping Buddha. The temple’s gate faces to the south direction. The total length of the temple is 385 meters. It is impressive and grand. In the left side of the temple is a splendid pavilion of Goddess of Mercy, in which a sculpture of Goddess of Mercy is respected. The little southern mountain Dicang Palace was newly built at the right side of the temple. On the two sides of the assoiling pool, four arhats palaces are built. The whole temple is ordered and balanced with the traditional building style of southern Fujian ancient temple.
The main palace Daxiong Palace was built on a base of 2.7 meter in the form of lifting beam. The palace is 22 meter high and 837 square kilometers.
In front of the Tianwang Palace are two stone sculptures made in North Dynasty Zhiping Second year (AD 1065). They are 3 meters high, one of which is carved with incantation of Tuo Luoni, which is a rare material for study on Sanskrit translation and the relationship between it and the local dialect.
In front of Pumen Nunnery of the left side of the temple, there is a tower of the god Shijia Wen built in Song Dynasty Qian Dao First year (AD 1165). The tower consists of five storeys and is 30 meters high. The tower is hollow with stone steps for people to clime up the tower and get out of the door of each storey. There is basso-relievo, people with two heads and swing, musicians flying to the heaven, flowers, birds and beasts between the outside wall and the inside room. The eaves of the tower were carved to be like tiles as if they are dancing in the wind. The art of the building is scare in Fujian province, and the tower is listed as a Key Cultural Relic Unit under State Protection.
In the temple there is a plaque on which characters are written by Zhao Piaochu, Which means living on my holy motherland beneficially and gratefully. Guanghua Temple is one of the Key Cultural Relic Unit under Fujian government’s Protection, where people coming on pilgrimage and respect in an endless stream. How prosperous the incense is burning!
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
a road in the urban area directly leads to the gate of the mountain
There are 1 comments on this topic
Top Things to Do in Putian
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps