Little Qingdao Island is situated in Qingdao Bay, 720 meters (2360 feet) off the seashore. It is with an altitude of 17 meters (56 feet) and a total area of 24000 square meters (250000 square feet). It is connected to the mainland by a seawall built in the 1940s.
Its shape seems like an ancient violin, and when the waves slap the shoreline, the sound is similar to that of the instrument being played, therefore it is also called Violin Island.
There is white lighthouse on the isle built at the 26th year of the reign of Emperor Guangxu of the Qing Dynasty (1900) by German. With a height of 15.5 meters (51 feet), it is an important navigation mark for ships sailing to kiaochow bay from home and abroad. The lighthouse shines in sunlight, while at night, its light, sparkling at the top, reflecting and flickering on the sea, as if it is floating with the waves. Viewed from afar, especially from the Huilan Pavilion on Zhanqiao Pier, the scenery is really fascinating and moving.
It is considered to be one of the most famous scenes of Qingdao and famous for the “Floating Light of the Little Qingdao Island”. It has become a park since 1988, dotted with numerous flower corridors, sculptures, waterside pavilions, gazebos surrounded by various kinds of flowers and pines, each with its unique features. They are laid out appropriately, forming a harmonious whole.