Qingshui Rock is originally named Zhang Rock. During the Song Dynasty, Chen Puzu, a Buddhist monk from Gu Mountain in Yongchun, cultivate himself there according to a religious doctrine. When he saw the clear spring rock, he changed the name of the rock and built a temple there. In the year of 1101, the Buddhist monk Puzu died. Local people carved a statue with the aglla wood to worship him, giving him the name of “the founder of Qingshui”. Since the villagers migrated elsewhere and worshipped him separately, there are now more than 60 temples of the Qingshui founder in Taiwan. The Chinese community of Southeast Asia, such as the famous “snake temple” in Bing City of Malaysia, also worship the Qingshui founder.
Built by using the slopes of the mountain, the temple of Qingshui Rock is a three-storey pavilion with a deep, wide chasm below it. The first storey is an entrance of broad sky. The second storey is the hall of the founder. The third storey is the tower of Sakyamuni. On both sides of each storey, there is a Tanyue Hall, a K wan-yin Hall and the Good Name Hall. At the back of the hall, there is a “vacuum tower” built in the Song Dynasty, in which the bone ashes of the Qingshui Founder are kept. A Triple-brim square pavilion is newly built on the tower. The dangerous pavilion with red-brick walls and grey roof tiles is smothered on the mountain top with green pines and bamboos and smokes wreathing up, which is rather an elegant and spectacular sight.