Former Residence of Mao Zedong
Last updated by joyce at 2014/5/4
On December 26th, 1893, China’s great chairman, Mao Zedong, was born in a small tile-roofed farmhouse of Shaoshan. In 1910, Chairman Mao left home for study. The farmhouse, marked by vicissitudes, has been renovated and expanded several times by Chairman Mao’s ancestors, elder generation and brothers. In 1878, the farmhouse had three and a half rooms, and in 1981, it had thirteen and a half rooms after the great renovation and rebuilding of three generations. In April 1929, the reactionaries confiscated all of Chairman Mao’s family properties and the house in Shaoshan. Thus, the house together with the furniture in it was badly damaged. After liberation, the house has been renovated for many times by the government, trying to keep it the original appearance. The house contains a desk, a bed and a closet in its bedroom, a wooden bench and a table in its hall and a cupboard in its kitchen. In the year 1950, Chairman Mao’s Former Residence was open to public as a revolutionary memorial site. In 1925, Chairman Mao had held a secret meeting in this house, establishing the first branch of China’s Communist Party. In March 1961, Mao Zedong’s Former Residence was classified as the first batch of important heritage site under state protection by the state council.
Former Residence of Mao Zedong Scenic Area mainly consists of Mao Zedong’s Former Residence, Ancestral Hall of Mao Family, Mao Zedong’s Memorial Hall, Mao Zedong bronze statue and the Forest of Steles of Mao's poetries.
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
Top Things to Do in Shaoshan
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps