Congfu Temple was ever used as administrative place of Grand Tutor Lin in Liao Dynasty. It was also called Lin Ya Palace. During the period of Tong He in Liao Dynasty (A.D. 983-1102), it was renamed as Lin Ya Temple. In Tian De Second Year of Jin Dynasty (A.D.1150), a plague on which Chong Fu Chan Wei were written to the temple. The temple locates in the north of Dong Da Street Shuozhou City Shanxi Province. It was built on Lin De Second Year of Tang Dynasty (A.D. 665). The buildings are grandeur.
Chongfu Temple now still preserves well the mountain gate, Mi Tuo, Di Zang, Buddhist palaces such as Wenshu, as well as attic of scriptures and buildings of drum and clock. All these buildings are proper distributed with the primary and secondary clearly being demarcated. The attic of scriptures locates in front of the palace. Mi Tuo Temple is the largest building in Jin Dynasty, in which sculptures of Jin Dynasty are well preserved.
Mi Tuo Hall is the largest hall in Chongfu Temple. It was originally built in Huang Tong Third Year of Jin Dynasty (A.D. 1143). It covers an area which has seven rooms from the left to the right side and four rooms from the front to the back side. On top of the palace single eaves are used to support the whole building. Sets of oval brackets are used. The structure of the roof beam is very skillful. Doors and windows in the style of Jin Dynasty are preserved in the large rooms, of which patterns of window decorations amounts to fifteen types and more. The craft of the decorations is consummate and the only works of Jin Dynasty well preserved in China. The sculptures in the hall are very high and large, the middle of which is Amitabha, the two sides of which are Kwan-yin and Da Shi Zhi, and the front of which are sculptures like Xie Si, Buddha's warrior attendant, etc. These are all the original works of Jin Dynasty. On the four walls of the hall are the mural paintings, which describe Buddha, Bodhisattva with a thousand hands and Goddess of Mercy, etc. The paintings are enormous in size, the main colors of which are red, green and blue. The art value of the paintings is very high.
The goddess of Mercy in Chongfu Temple was originally built in Jin Dynasty. It covers an area with five rooms from the left to the right and four rooms from the front to the back. On the roof of the hall are single eaves. The oval brackets are well cut together with simple columns. The characteristics of the building are to reduce the numbers of columns appropriately to enlarge the room inside the hall to make the ceremony held inside more convenient. The columns in the form of the Chinese character Ren is a Chinese building example with relatively long history in ancient time. Buddha platform in the temple is wide with sculptures of Goddess of Mercy and Puxian, which were repaired later. The hall is a large scale ancient temple with palaces and attics closely distributing. It was built in Lin De Second Year of Tang Dynasty (A.D. 665).