Guang Xiao Temple was built by Monk Juechan in the reign of Yixing in Eastern Jin Dynasty (405-418AD). In the 8th year of the reign of Shaoxing in Southern Song Dynasty (in 1138) it was given the name of Bao’en Guang Xiao Chansi Buddhist temple and was destroyed by the war twenty-three years later. In the second year of Qingyuan (in 1196) they built a clock tower with about 33 meters high and the Zhuijixian Hall (The Luckiest Hall) which is 55 meters high, the Zhuijixiang Hall of Bao’en Guang Xiao Temple stele written by Lu You is in the temple. Around the year from the ninth year of the reign of Qianlong to the 40th year in Qing Dynasty they built Fragrant Rain Pavilion, left and right corridors, Hall of Guanyin, Hall of the God of Earth, Weituo Hall, Heavenly King Hall, Temple gate, the Abbot’s front and back attics, monk’s dining-hall and so on, and later they built Qianhua altar (where people are initiated into monk hood or nun hood). At that time, Guang Xiao Temple is at its highest point and covers an area of more than 40 mu (a Chinese unit of area 1mu=0.06667 hectares) and over one thousand monks living there. After the year 1951, the altar, halls and side rooms were all demolished one after another for other use and only left Biyuanzhangbao, Chuanru Pavilion and Xiaoxiu Pavilion etc. In February, 1984 it was listed as one of the provincial level temples approved by People’s Government of Jiangsu Province and the repair work was started at that time. In December, 1988 they built a sutra mansion, and in September, 1992 they built the Heavenly King Hall with saddle roof and double eaves and changed the former Yingshan Temple gate hall into Hall with single eaves and saddle roof. In November, 1996, the “Zuijixiang Hall” with saddle roof and double eaves in Song style had finished which was designed by the famous architect Du Xianzhou.