Last updated by tracyk223 at 2014/11/1
The Confucian Temple was starting in the first year of Emperor Zhengtong's reign during the Ming Dynasty (1436). It then experienced renovations and enlargements during the ruling period of Emperors Tianshun and Wanli in the Ming Dynasty and of Kangxi, Qianlong in Qing Dynasty.
Most Confucianist temples were built in Confucian schools, either to the front of or to one side of the school. The front portal of the temple was called the Lingxing Gate. The inside normally contained three courtyards, although sometimes there were only two. The complex in Qufu has nine courtyards. The main building, situated in the inner courtyard with entry via the Dachengmen, was usually known as the Dachengdian, variously translated as "Hall of Great Achievement," "Hall of Great Accomplishment," or "Hall of Great Perfection." This hall housed the Confucius Ancestral Tablet and those of other important masters and sages. In front of the Dachengdian was the Apricot Pavilion or Xingtan. Another important building was the Shrine of the Great Wise Men (Chongshengci), which honored the ancestors of Confucius.
The roofs of most of the buildings in the Tianjin Confucian temple are covered with yellow-colored glass and are elegantly decorated with carved girders and pictured ridgepoles. Outside the temple are monuments of two poles and three stories, built during Ming Dynasty and renovated during the Wangli Period in the Ming Dynasty and the Kangxi Period in the Qing Dynasty. They are the only existing street monuments in Tianjin City.
Solo Adventure Tips:
The Confucius Temple is located in Dongmen Li of Tianjin Old City.
How to Get There?
You can get to the Confucian Temple by taking bus 681, 24, 824, 624, 4, 633, 685, or 878.
Ticket Price: RMB 10
Opening Hours: 9:00-17:00
Top Things to Do in Tianjin
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps