Wuwei Wen Temple
Weiwu Wen Temple, called Wen Shrine or Confucius Temple, was first constructed in Zhengtong 4th year of Ming Dynasty (1439) and expanded in ensuing times. In the end, Wen Temple formed a grand scale and was known as NO.1 Academy in Longyou Area. Facing south and against north, Wuwei Wen Temple was made up of three complexes: the eastern Wenchang Palace, the central Wen Temple, and the western Confucius School of Liangzhou Area. Presently, the first two are well preserved. Wen Temple, covering a total area of more than 1500 square meters, is a sacred place for ancient scholars to worship Confucius.
The entrance of Wen Temple is facing the south and there is a solemn screen of wall called Wanren Wall at the south end. The two ends of the screen of wall are two doors: Yi Road, leading to the east and Li Door leading to the west. Entering the Wen Temple from the Yi Road, visitors can see a half-moon pond beside the northern screen of wall. Over the pond there is a stone arched bridge called Zhuangyuan Bridge.
With upturned eaves, Lingxing Gate is a wooden archway with 4 pillars and 3 rooms constructed under the reign of Zhengtong of Ming Dynasty. Passing through the Lingxing Gate, visitors can see a Ji Gate, beside the two sides of which there is a temple where put some memorial tablets of wisdoms and officials. Ji Gate is gate near Dacheng Palace, which was erected on a broad basement.
It is magnificent and solemn and preserves the architecture style of Song Dynasty. A portrait of Confucius, the greatest philosopher, educator, politician from Chinese history, and his students Yuanhui, Zisi, Zengzi and the memorial tablet of Mengzi, are sacrificed on the lintel of the Palace. With compacted eaves, the 2-story, earth-wooden Zunjing Pavilion behind the Dacheng Palace is erected on a 2-meter-high stone basement. Zunjing Pavilion, surrounded by wooden cloister, is also the biggest ancient construction in Wuwei .
The wind bells hanging on the eaves ringing with the breeze adds some fresh relish to the primitive temple. The Guiji Palace on the east of the Dacheng Palace is a place to sacrifice King Wenchang. In Wenchang Palace there is a broad way and some adjacent rooms for the monks. The Kuixing Pavilion and Guiji Palace is harmony with each other.
The eastern and western complex in Wen Temple is standing solemnly. The Wen Temple and Wenchang Palace are well preserved. Wen Temple with old-aged trees is in symmetric layouts. The complex looks primitively simple and stately with towering cypress, colorfully decorated halls. The ambivalence of solemnity and tranquility fill in every corner of the temple. It is obvious that the Chinese People's respect and admiration to Confucius is unchanged. A sculpture of teaching Confucius is standing in front of the Grand Hall.
With his hands are crossed on his chest, Confucius, the famous educator from Chinese history, is teaching untiringly. In the building of Xixia Antiques Exhibition many auspicious poems eulogizing Wen Temple and Confucius carved on the eaves. Now the Confucius Temple is the site of the Wuwei Museum.