Chibi Ancient Battlefield
Last updated by chinatravel at 2013-11-4
Chibi Ancient Battlefield Overview
Chibi is ruins of the ancient battlefield in the Three Kingdoms period. It is made up of three mountains, Chibi Mountain, Nanping Mountain, and Jinluan Mountain. The main landscapes are:
Chibi Cliffside Inscriptions: On the cliff bordering river of Chibi Mountain, two characters, “赤壁” are engraved in stone. Each of the two characters is 1.5 meters long and 1.04 meters wide. They are inscribed in Tang Dynasty. In spite of thousand-year wind and rain erosion, and slap of the angry waves, the writing is still legible and complete until now.
Yijiang Pavilion: It is situated at River-bordering rock spur, Chibi Mountain. Built in 1936, this pavilion is composed of Ma stone with glazed roof tile at the top, six posts and angles, and a tower-shaped spire. It is so called because Chibi Mountain and Iron Mountain are like the two wings of Kunpeng bird.
Wind-praying Altar: It is also named Wuhou Palace. It is located on Nanping mountaintop which is to the southeast of Chibi Mountain. This palace is built to honor Marquis Zhuge who helps Zhouyu by setting altar to pray for east wind here. It covers 310 square meters and is divided into two temples. In the inner temple, the vivid whole-body statues of Liubei, Guanyu, Zhangfei, and Zhugeliang with flyaway robe girdles are deposited.
The stone statue of Zhouyu: In a level ground on Chibi rock spur, the stone statue of Zhouyu, commander of the eastern Wu, one of the Three Kingdoms, is erected. This statue is 9 meters high. It is the biggest stone statue of figure in Hubei province.
Fengchu Hut: It is situated in Jinluan Mountain southeast of Nanping Mountain. According to the legend, during the Chibi War, It was the place where Pangtong, named Mr. Fengchu, read over book of statics. The posterities build Fengchu Hut here. The present hall of this hut was built in the year 26 of the Qing Emperor, Daoguang (1846 AD). It is used to be a nine-story temple, but now only the top story is preserved. It covers 300 square meters. It is divided into three halls. In the first hall, the whole-body statue of Pangtong is deposited. The second hall is Chibi library. The third one is reception room and restroom.
Chibi Gallery of Steles:It is situated on the right of Wind-praying Altar and behind East-wind Cabinet. The gallery is prepared to construct in 1985 and covers 277 square meters. In May, 1986, it is completed and open to the public. It is a four-sided cloister made up of reinforced concrete, wood, and stone. On the lintel, there are four characters, “赤壁碑廊” ( Chinese name of Chibi Gallery of Steles), inscribed by Li’erchong. In the gallery, 25 steles are set. The stele is combined with the wall. On the stele, there are poems concerning Chibi War made by poets of successive dynasties. These stone inscriptions are made finely in running hand, cursive script, seal character, and Li character with different styles. They can be claimed as immortal works.
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
You may arrive Chibi City directly by bus at Hongji passenger station, Wuhan. A one way ticket is 30 RMB. ( Arriving there, 90 minutes will be needed on Jingzhu expressway.) You may also go to Chibi City by train bound southward at Wuchang railway station. After reaching Chibi City, you may go to Lushui Lake wharf by taxi or bus.
Recommended length of time for visit: Half a day
There are 0 comments on this topic
Top Things to Do in Xianning
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps