Last updated by chinatravel at 2013-10-30
The pavilion was built by the Emperor Lujianwang during the Wanli period of the Ming Dynasty (1573—1620). It is 25 meters high, 35 meters long from the east to the west, and 19 meters wide from the south to the north. It is a brick building with no girders or rafters, and the inside wall is constructed by white stones. There is a stone door on each hill of the pavilion for people to climb upwards or downwards. There are cross arches on the first floor with doors on the four sides, you can directly reach the top of the pavilion from the east and west sides and have a overlook of the whole city.
Originally there was a large hall on top of the building, which was named “Chongben Book Pavilion”, and it had functioned as the Emperor Lujianwang and his son’s study and drawing studio. Now the pavilion has been destroyed, only leaving behind a “Ruyi Fang”. This Ruyi Fang is divided into three rooms by four pillars, with a kind of four sloped roof. The stelae were engraved with designs of “Two dragons playing with the pearl”, pavilions and terraces, “the elders congratulating on somebody’s birthday”, and lotus flowers, etc., which enjoys highly excellent techniques. The horizontal stele of the stone archway was engraved with three characters “Chengyi Fang”, and there are couplets engraved on the pillars. At the foot of the pillars, there stand drum-shaped bearing stones, on which there are squatting lions and flower designs, it is really a sample artistic work of the Ming Dynasty with its beautiful and elegant design and fine engraving work.
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
You can take a regular bus from Xinxiang to Weihui, and the pavilion is just in the northeast corner of the city proper.
There are 0 comments on this topic
Top Things to Do in Xinxiang
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps