The Former Residence of Yanxishan

Last updated by chinatravel at 2014/5/6

The former residence of Yanxishan was originally built in 1931. It was built continously until on the eve of the out break of the anti-Japanese war it came into being present scale (some buildings were not completed for the war). The former residence costs 1,400,000 Liang silver. The whole building complex faces the west, 1,352 meters in length and 1,197 in width. During that period, 27 yards and over 1,000 rooms were built, occupying an area of 33,000 square meters. Dudu Mansion, Deyi Pavillion (Changchun Pavillion), Shangjiangjun Mansion, the Second Master Mansion, Chuanxin Yard, Xinnan Yard, Eastern Garden, Western Garden and Ziming Maternal Yard.

The magnificent modern architectural complex is not only a precious object for studying the vicissitudes of Yan Family but also a historical remains for studying Yanxishan himself going up and down on official career in politics; the architectural complex is with vivid folk color and architectural style which combines Chinese and Western styles, presenting its distinctive cultural value and aesthetic value. There are sets of exquisite and matchless carved stones, wood carving, and brick carving, which let tourists forget to go home.

Hebian Folk Custom Museum was built in 1988 on the basis of the Former Residence of Yanxishan and was open to the public in 1989. It is a large scaled museum showing the culture of the north of Shanxi Province from different aspects and angles.

There are 99 exhibition rooms to reflect the distinctive folk custom and folk arts in the north of Shanxi Province in the period of the end of the Qing Dynasty and the earliest years of Republic of China. There are a lot of waxen images of historical figures here, such as, Zhude, Jiangjieshi, Songmeiling, Fengyuxiang, Yanxishan, Shaolizi, YanhuiQing (Wuzhouli); they reproduce acts of historical dramas happened in the ancient house. A series of historical relics including the national first-level historical relic-Sun Yat-sen’s original handwriting were exhibited on May 5, 1999 for celebrating the tenth anniversary of founding the museum. 

Brief Introduction of Yanxishan:

Yanxishan was born in a landlord family in Bianhe Village of Dingxiang County on October 8, 1883. He went to old-styled private school at 9, got married at 16, went to Japan to study abroad at 21, and became Dudu (governor of a province) of Shanxi Province. He was appointed as the director of Taiyuan and Jinsui, staying in Shanxi Province for a long time. He escaped to Taiyuan Province in 1949 and passed away in Taiwan in 1960.

Solo Adventure Tips:

Location:

How to Get There?
It is convenient from Xinzhou to Xiangding County.

Ticket Price:

Opening Hours:
7:30 a.m.-17:00 p.m.

More Tips:
Recommended Time: three hours


Nearby Attractions:

There are 0 comments on this topic

Post your comment on this topic

You can post as a guest, yet we suggest sign up first!!

Submit

Top Things to Do in Xinzhou

Foguang Temple

Foguang Temple

Located in the Foguang New Village of Wutai County, Shanx… >> details

Wutai Mountain

Wutai Mountain

Wutai Shan (Five Plateau Mountain), or Mount Wutai in eve… >> details

The Lao Niu Gulf

The Lao Niu Gulf

The Lao Niu Gulf, located in Pianguan County of the Shanxi P… >> details

Diaochan Cemetery

Diaochan Cemetery

The home of Diaochan is in Muzhi Village, three kilometers… >> details

The Former Residence of Yanxishan

The Former Residence of Yanxishan

The former residence of Yanxishan was originally built in … >> details

Xinzhou Travel Services

Interesting to Know

Tailor-making China ToursChina Summer Tour Deals

Travel Confidently with Us

Customers

10,000 Satisfied Customers

Customers

50 Years in China Travel Industry

Customers

Quick Response within 24 hours

Customers

Secured Online Payment

Customers

Group Tours with Solo Adventure

Customers

No Hidden Fees and No Traps