Last updated by chinatravel at 2015/4/28
The main structure of wood Wefeng Pagoda was once damaged except its base in history due to the lack of reparation. In 1839, the 19th ruling year of Daoguang Emperor in Qing Dynasty, Tao Tingjie, the inspector in Gansu Province, submitted a letter to the then ruler and suggested the rebuilt of the pagoda. He contributed one thousand taels (a unit of weight in ancient China) of silver as fund for the project. Later Chen Xiqiao, the official of the Dujun Prefecture, and Zhong Haimen, the official of Dujun County contributed about two thousand taels of silver. The project started on the basis of the original pagoda but changed its name into Wenfeng Pagoda. It has a square, bluestone base, the diameter of which is 9.5 meters long; the pagoda is 33 meters high and it is the only pagoda in Guizhou Province ever recorded in Chinese Ancient Pagodas. In 1999, Qiannan Prefecture and Dujun City expropriated 85 mu (about 3.3 square meters equal one mu) of land in Tazhou area for the construction of Wenfeng Garden with pagoda as the theme. Wenfeng Garden follows the style of traditional Chinese gardening; it is characterized by Wenfeng Pagoda and could be further divided into several scenic sections. Each scenic section has its unique features and integrates with each other in a harmonious manner. There are two entrances in the west and north of the garden as a garden in the open. The west of the garden is 300 meters off the railway station, and its north is connected to Wenfeng Bridge and the urban area. At the west entrance of the garden lies a huge rock of over 50 tones. It is transported from Luosike Mountain wreathed by mist all over the year in West Dujun Area. The huge rock is named Yunshi Rock. The two powerful and vigorous characters on the stone wall of the garden—“Wenfeng Garden” is the inscription by Tian Jiyun, the vice-chairman of the Standing Committee of National People’s Congress.
The original wood pagoda was constructed in the ruling years of Wanli Emperor of Ming Dynasty. It has a plane of eight-square shape and seven floors. Overlooking from the top of the pagoda, you would appreciate the quiet and peaceful scenery below decorated with the broad flowing canal. It is the perfect combination of movement and quiescence. Ascending the pagoda, you could not help exclaiming that the world had become smaller. In Wenfeng Temple, monks there collected fund through Chinese Martial Arts performance; they also received finance from Yu Dexiao, minister of the Chief Executive of the local prefecture and Shao Gong, an imperial envoy Censor-in-chief at that time. Wang Shizhen, the Vice Minister in Yangzhou, made a record of it in Book of Wenfeng Pagoda. In 1853, the third ruling year of Xianfeng Emperor, the Wenfeng Temple was destroyed and the Wenfeng Pagoda had only the basic structure left. Local monks organized abbots all over China to give economic support to rebuild the temple. The rebuilt temple has a wood structure, eight side faces, and a stone square base. At the foot of the pagoda stands a tablet written with the inscription of “Ancient Canal”. Today’s Wenfeng Temple has been developed into a garden open to tourists at home and abroad.
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
Tourists can first take Bus. No. 8 at West Bus Station or Bus Station to Tongyu Group Station, then go across the bridge, and walk ahead along Baota Road.
8: 00-17: 00
Suggested Tour Hours: Half a day
Top Things to Do in Yangzhou
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps