Last updated by chinatravel at 2014/5/8
It was built in East Han Dynasty (25-220) and called "Yiyong Ancestral Hall of Emperor Wu'an", which was repaired in Jiajing 15th year and got the name "Guanling"(Guanyu Temple).
According to historic record, in East Han Jian'an 24th year (219), Guanyu and Sunquan had a battle. Guanyu was defeated to get killed in Linju. Then Sunquan took his severed head to Caocao in Luoyang and buried it there as the feudal lord. Before this tomb was just an earth grave, and in South Song Chunxi 10th year (183) some pavilion was built here. During Yuan Dynasty (1271-1368), the gate of the grave was added. In Ming Dynasty Chenghua 3th year (1467) the temple was set up, then it was repaired and remolded. In the cemetery, there are memorial arch, red gate, Ma Hall, Pray Hall, the main hall, bedroom palace, Qisheng palace, Spring and Autumn Pavilion, Bozi Cave, the octagonal pavilion, tablet porch and some other buildings. It has diversified pavilion, stern palace, with Dan walls encircled, very grand. The grave locates behind the bedroom palace, with the length of 7 meters and the perimeter of over 70 meters, which has stone walls and railings with engraved stones in front of the grave and behind pavilions, very plain. Many stele carving of celebrities in ancient times have been preserved here, among which the prose carved on the stones made by two brothers Yuan Hongdao and Yuan Zhongdao (writers of Ming Dynasty) are especially good. The cemetery faces Jushui River, looking out in all directions spaciously, with towering copal in it, very beautiful and peaceful.
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
Set off from Dangyang and go 2 kilometer to the west along Hedang highway. The traffic is very convenient.
9:00 – 16:00
Recommended Time for Visiting: Three hours
Top Things to Do in Yichang
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps