The Qu Yuan Ancestral Hall is a popular tourist destination in China. It also goes by the name ‘Qingliegong Ancestral Hall’, and was built in the 15th year of Yuanhe during the Tang Dynasty, which ran from 618 A.D. to 901 A.D.
The ancestral hall has been through many repeated repairs due to repeated destructions during the Song, Yuan, Ming, and Qing Dynasties. It was then moved to its present place in 1978 when Gezhou Dam Hydro-junction was built, but the Chinese made sure to rebuild the hall in its original design.
This original design includes an entrance, which leads to the main hall. This is then flanked by a left hall and a right hall.
The entrance is made up of three buildings and four columns each of which bears a character; when put together, the characters make up the word “Qing Lie Gong Ci”. These are written in the middle while “Gu Zhong” and “Liu Fang” are also written on the two sides.
The main hall.
The main hall is made up of steel disc concrete structures that follow the style of the Ming and Qing Dynasties. The Chongtai looks quite grand with its green tiles and upturned eaves. Behind the main hall lies the Qu Yuan Grave, which was built by the ancient Chinese. It is preceded by a gate with an old watchtower as well as a memorial archway made of stone. Both of these are original makings from the Daoguang years of the Qing Dynasty, which ran from 1616-1911.
The main hall is situated right beside the mountain and the river and boasts of the most elegant scenery. When one stands in the main hall and looks toward the south, he will witness an extraordinary view of the mountains in the south bank.
A Brief History of Qu Yuan Ancestral Hall
The Qu Yuan Ancestral Hall was named after Qu Yuan, who was actually named Ping but who changed his name to Yuan. He was the Chu person of the Warring States, and was the earliest known poet in China. He was assistant to the king Huai and was appointed as the Zuotu and Sanjian Dafu. In his latter years, he was slandered and was driven to resign from his position.
During that time, the Chu country was politically corrupt and was conquered by the Qing army, who was able to break through Zou, the capital city. Qu Yuan was unable to save his country from the invasion and, driven by his political failure, he threw himself to the Miluo River to die.
Legend says that after Qu Yuan died, a ‘god fish’ carried his corpse to his native land in Zigui, where he was buried 5 kilometres from the eastern city. This was then called Qu Lun.
If you want to visit Qu Yuan Ancestral Hall, China Travel can tailor-make a tour including Qu Yuan Ancestral Hall, which can save your time, money, and trouble. Please feel free to tell us your tour ideas!