Tianbao Village whose history is about 1800 years can date back to the Tang Dynasty, covering an area of more than 2.5 square kilometers. The village has a good reputation throughout the south of the Yangtze River for its name of “Tianbao” which means “green waves, the best among all things on the earth, the treasure of the nature, as invaluable as Luoyang”. Tianbao was ever the county site of the ancient Yifeng County; carrying profound cultural connotation. It also famous for its “bazaar” of “four village gates of the south, north, east and west, two streets in the front and back, forty eight lanes, forty eight wells, bamboos town walls all around, and the smell of Chinese water chestnut in the four seasons”, winning the name of “small Nanjing”. In addition, the village has 141 buildings built in the Ming Dynasty and Qing Dynasty, 22 of which are under national priority protection; its ancient flagstone roads have a total length of 7,375 meters. There are 43 ancient lanes and 23 ancient gate towers in the village as well.
Among the folks of Tianbao, the slang of “Wanzai firecracker and Liuyang umbrella” is used to describe Tianbao girls who are well known for their beautiful voice and mild character, which are as famous as firecrackers made in Wanzai and umbrellas made in Liuyang.