Lengyan Sacred Temple
Last updated by chinatravel at 2013-11-2
Lengyan Sacred Temple Overview
Lengyan Sacred Temple began to be built in 1922 and completed in 1933. It takes the form of standard rectangle, facing south and covering 8036 sq.kms, about 164 meters long from south to north and 49 meters wide from east to west. Famous for its orderly layout, compact pattern, exquisite structure and subtle sculpture and paintings, the temple was classified into provincial-level key relics-preservation institution.
Its courtyard belongs to three gradation form, fended by the enclosing wall, which appears rather magnificent and splendid. It is well-known as one of the four temples in Northeast Region. From south to north, Shanmen Gates, Heavenly King Hall, Daxiong Sacred Hall and Scripture Storing Hall are aligned on the axis. On both sides stand the bell tower and drum-tower and two ancillary halls. Shanmen Gates, a double Xieshan architecture (a Chinese traditional architecture style), consists of three gates. In addition to the main gate, there are two minor gates on the right and left. Through Shanmen Gates, the first courtyard comes into view, where the bell tower and drum-tower are situated in the east and west, which both were constructed in the double-flying eaves architecture (a Chinese traditional architecture style). Around the beam of the belfry hang a big iron clock with beast- head ring, weighing two tons, and incised an inscription “Yingkou Sacred Temple”. Heavenly King Hall was constructed on the granite above one meter high, as the main body around the first courtyard, which is divided into five rooms in a Chinese traditional architectural style of Yingshan. The main ridge is ornamented by loose-carvings, four dragons playing with pearl. In front and back of the main hall there are the corridors, where follows another little hall. Inside the main hall is the standing statue of Bodhisattva Weituo, while on both sides stands the statues of the Four Heavenly Kings, whose appearances are full of animation. Daxiong Sacred Hall, the main body in the second courtyard serves as the central buildings among the whole temples, five rooms inclusive with a Chinese traditional architecture of Yingshan. On the chief ridge and two sides are relief-carvings, flying dragons playing with night-luminescent pearl which belongs to the tower-styled flaming pearl floating in the middle. It is in the centre of the minor pagoda that a clear mirror is hung on high, glittering with silver. A series of copper statues are displayed in the temple, ranging from Tathagata, the Bodhisattva of Mercy, to the Eighteen Archarts which is one group surviving more intact in Northeast Region. Those statues present various expressions, vivid and true to life, greatly beautifying the Daxiong Sacred Hall. In the centre of the third yard is the last part of the temples, the Scripture Storing Hall, a Xieshan architecture, including a large vault and porch around. The ancillary temples are on both sides in the courtyard, whose layout is compact and orderly, integrating with other parts as a complex.
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
Take the No.14 bus and get off on the southern side of Xinxing Road, Zhanqian District
1.On the Temple Faire Festival, the eighteen day of the lunar calendar, thousands of tourists and pilgrims from Daliang city and Herbin city congregate here. The trade is prosperous and the atmosphere is agreeable and joyous. 2.Recommended time for tourists: one hour
There are 0 comments on this topic
Top Things to Do in Yingkou
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps