Last updated by orchid at 2014/5/10
The drum tower is in the middle of the urban area of Zhongwei City. In the early years of Qing Dynasty, it was named Wenchangge. It was first built in the fourth year of Jiaqing in Qing Dynasty (1631 A.D.). In 22 of Jiaqing in Qing Dynasty (1817 A.D.), there is a temple fair on July, 14. New bell tower was on fire carelessly and burnt. Only the basic site was left. In 11 of Daoguang (1831 A.D.), the county governor, Ai Chunnian, led Dianshi, Shenyuan and the local country gentlemen into donating and rebuilding. It was built in the next year. The base of drum tower is rectangular. It is 224 meters long from the south end to the north. It is 1665 meters wide from the east end to the west. In the middle of the base, it is a cross-shaped door opening leading to streets in four directions.The door opening is 3.75 meters high. Its center is a dome top. In the middle of it, there is an alga well in the shape of eight diagrams. Around the map of eight diagrams, the wood carvings of the Eight immortals are hang. The stone carvings of dragon head are set in the four corners. The four dragons are face to face with heads held high. On the four gate towers of the base, there are steles representing the geographical features of Zhongwei according to location. These words are written on the east stele, “the lock grips bronze”; on the sourh stele, “incense crocks confront each other”; on the west stele, “straightforwardly reatrain Sha Mountain”. On the north stele, “control the barbarians on frontier” are used to be written. When it was repaired in 1984, according to policies towards all ethnic groups of the party and following the principles of repairing the cultural relics, it was changed into “control the frontier”.
The pavilion of drum tower is 23 meters high. The bell tower is totally 30 meters high. The folded pavilion has three stories. It is an attic building with a square base in the shape of arch. The type of the pavilion is an organic whole. At the southwest corner of the pavilion, there is a small door leading to the upper part of the base. In the middle of the pedestal, it is the main pavilion of three-folded eaves and a cross-shaped Xieshan top. On every side, there are three rooms, three stories and three eaves. There are twelve upturned angles on every story. On the top story, there is a sightseeing cloister on each of the four sides. Four small-sized accompanying buildings are built on the four sides of the base. On the inner walls of the buildings, the background, date, process, and related items of the initial building and rebuilding of the bell tower are marked by carving. In the middle of the top of the pavilion, six black pottery balls are erected. Pan dragons set on four sides form a picture of a group of dragons playing with balls. But viewed from different angle, you can only see two dragons playing with the ball. On the top story, Kuixing is sculpted; on the middle story, Wenchang is sculpted. While on the ground floor, the ancestor of thunder, the god of wealth, Huodi Zhnejun, and Kuanyin are sculpted on the four sides. Ascending the pavilion and looking far into the distance, you may see the mists and waves stretching far into the distance and the charming scene. The landscapes and sceneries fall under your eye. When every visitor comes here, he will stop and face upward to admire its grandeur.
Solo Adventure Tips:
It is located in the center of the downtown.
How to Get There?
Opening Hours: 8:30-17:00
Top Things to Do in Zhongwei
With a long history, Hand pulled Saozi Noodles is a traditio… >> details
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps