Last updated by chinatravel at 2015/4/28
In earlier times, Kongling An was also called Virtue Rock, Stone Bell Mountain, Hanging Bell Rock and Lion Rock. In South and North Dynasty---508 A.D. Emperor Liangwu assigned people to build Kongling Temple, where stood the Kwain-yin statue. So it was also called Kwain-yin Rock.
Kongling An has a long history. In 769-770 A.D. of Tang Dynasty, the famous poet Dupu brought his family here by boat to sight-see Xiangjiang River and visited Kongling An, and he also expressed his wish to settle down here in his poem Odd to Kongling An. In 1804, the Qing Dynasty, Hu Guanjing Built Dugong Pavilion on the right side of Kongling Temple and caved Dupu’s poem Odd to Kongling An on it. The 15th year of Emperor Daoguang (1835 A.D.) the area was enlarged and the pavilion of Kongling Temple was repaired. And in the 5th year of Emperor Guangxu (1879) Feng Jingchuan as the head was responsible for the repair of the pavilion, and the size was enlarged again, it formed Kongling Temple, Long Whistle House, King hiding Cabinet and Dupu Hall. Later Peng Yulling presented plum blossoms and caved them in the stone, and the Plum Blossom Pavilion was built. In the first year of Republic of China (1912), Liu Yixue, Deng Guangqiao proposed to repair the pavilion. And in 1936, Du Zhenyuan collected money to repair Kongling Temple. But because of the war and denudation, Kongling Temple resulted in disrepair in 1968.
The burning incense is dense in Kongling Temple and its reputation spread far off. There once a lot of high officials coming here to improvise poems. In October, 1987, Tang Yingtao, the Hunanese-Taiwanese, suggested by Xiao Boliang, member of Ai Mi prefectural Committee of CPPCC (Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference), organized overseas Chinese to denote to rebuild Kongling Temple, and prefectural government appointed Mo Gaoyao to organize people to repair. Along the rock built gate, plank road, Three Saint Temple, Lection Storing Building, Daxiong Temple, Bell and Drum Pavilion, and monk huts, which covered 960 m2. The red wall and golden tile were very magnificent. Vice-premier Fang Yi inscribed the stele on which the Chinese characters Kongling An, vice president of Committee of CPPCC and president of Chinese Buddhists Association Zhao Pu inscribed the stele of Tree Saint Temple, inscription calligrapher Li Li inscribed the stele on which Chinese character Buddhist spirit spreads, and national famous calligrapher Li Feng inscribed the golden stele of Daxiong Temple.
Solo Adventure Tips:
How to Get There?
Top Things to Do in Zhuzhou
The back garden and dooryard and four walls of Yao Majorit… >> details
Travel Confidently with Us
10,000 Satisfied Customers
50 Years in China Travel Industry
Quick Response within 24 hours
Secured Online Payment
Group Tours with Solo Adventure
No Hidden Fees and No Traps