Jiangsu History

Last updated by fabiowzgogo at 2017/5/4

Jiangsu was established as a province in the early Qing Dynasty, and the name "Jiangsu" comes from the combination of the first Chinese character of "Jiang Ning" and "Su Zhou" (two prefectures in the Qing Dynasty). According to historical records, Jiangsu was part of Xu State and Yang State among the nine states recorded. It belonged to Lu State, Song State, Chu State, Wu State, and so on successively in the Western Zhou Dynasty, and was part of Wu State, Song State, Chu State, Yue State, Qi State, and so on successively in the Spring and Autumn Period and Warring States Period.

In the Qin Dynasty, it was part of Kuaiji Couty, Zhang County, Sishui County, Donghai County, and so on successively. It belonged to the two prefectures Yangzhou and Xuzhou in the Han Dynasty. Suzhou, Yangzhou and Xuzhou were established within it during the early Sui Dynasty. Later they were changed to Wu County, Piling County, Danyang County, Jiangdu County, Xiaqiu County, Pengcheng County, Donghai County, and so forth.

In the early Tang Dynasty, Jiangsu belonged to Jiangnan, Huainan and Henan. In the Northern Song Dynasty, it belonged to eastern Jiangnan Prefecture, Liangzhe Prefecture, eastern Huainan Prefecture, and western Jingdong Prefecture. It was part of Jiangzhe and Henan prefectures in the Yuan Dynasty.

In the Ming Dynasy, Jiangsu Province and Anhui Province both belonged to Yingtianfu with Nanjing as its center. In the early Qing Dynasty, it was part of Jiangnan Province.

In the sixth year of the reign of Kangxi Emperor in the Qing Dynasty (that is, the year 1667) Jiangnan Province was divided into Jiangsu Province and Anhui Province. The Taiping Heavenly Kingdom established Jiangnan Province, Tianpu Province, Sufu Province successively.

Nanjing was set up as a special city in the 17th year of the Republic of China (namely, the year 1928). After the People’s Republic of China was founded, North Su and South Su administrative areas were established, and Nanjing became a city directly under the jurisdiction of the central government. In 1953, North Su and South Su were merged into Jiangsu Province with Nanjing as its capital city.

Recommended Jiangsu Tours: