Yanbian Travel Guide

Last updated by fabiowzgogo at 2017/6/19

Yanbian Overview

Yanbian is an autonomous prefecture with a population of 2.2 million and covers a total area of about 43,000 square kilometers. Its location, on the east of Jilin province, near to the sea, is bounded in the east by Russia and in the south by South Korea. It has jurisdiction over 6 cities including Yanji, Huichun, Tumen, Longjing, Helong, Dunhua and Antu, Wangqing counties.

It is the largest region where Korean nationality lives in compact communities and one of the earliest areas implemented the system of regional autonomous prefecture of China. Nineteen nationalities live there such as Korea nationality, Han nationality, Man nationality, and Hui nationality etc, of which the ethnic minorities account for 43.9% of the total population.

Yanbian is a renowned tourist zone. Changbai Mountain Natural Reserved Area, which was authored by UN as “Human and Ecosphere” ; the unique scenery of Tumen River Area, which extends as long as one thousand mileages, the scenery of border, the precious site of ancient Bohai Kingdom, and the social customs of Korea nationality attract and enchant a great number of tourists form all over the world.