As one of museums built earlier in China, Henan Museum has developed from Henan Province Museum.
Henan Museum Preparatory Committee was established in July,1927, deciding that the museum was located in the Three Saints Temple Street, Kaifeng city.
It regained its name as Henan Museum on December 1,1930.
From the 1960s to the 1980s, Henan Province Museum became one of the country's famous museums through donation, excavation and allocation, further enriching the heritage collections for exhibitions to promote socialist construction, and making notable achievements in scientific research. In the early 1990s, along with the constant development of reform and opening up, the concern and support of leaders at all levels, new hall of it was built on Nongye Road, Zhengzhou city with the investment of 300 million RMB from he State and renamed as Henan Museum.
New hall of the museum was formally opened on May 1, 1998. During the first five years, under the leadership of the party committees and efforts of all staffs, the museum has made remarkable achievements in exhibitions, collection of cultural relic, scientific research and mass work, making a positive contribution to the socialist spiritual civilization.