China 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit 2024

Written by Sally Guo Updated Jul. 16, 2024
what's new

Until December 31, 2025, citizens of France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Malaysia, Ireland, Switzerland, Hungary, Austria, Belgium, Luxembourg, Australia, New Zealand, and Poland with ordinary passports can visit China without a visa for up to 15 days.

This visa exemption extends to various purposes, including tourism, business trips, transit, and visiting friends and relatives in China.

Travelers from 54 countries can stay in certain regions of China for up to 144 hours (6 days) without a visa.

The permitted regions for the 144 hours visa-free include Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Chongqing, Chengdu, Xian, Guangzhou, etc. 

China 144-hour visa-free area

Who Can Enjoy the 144-hour Visa-Free Transit in China?

Now, citizens from these 54 countries can apply for 144-hour visa-free transit in China. 

Which Regions, Cities, and Ports in China Are Visa-free?

Now, there are 34 cities in China implementing the 144-hour visa-free policy, including Beijing, Tianjin, Shijiazhuang, Shanghai, Hangzhou, Ningbo, Nanjing, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Chongqing, Chengdu, Xian...

Region 1. Beijing, Tianjin, and Hebei Province

Permitted Ports of Entry/Exit: 

beijing 144-hour visa-free transit

Read the visa-free transit policy in Beijing, Tianjin, and Hebei for more details.

Region 2. Shanghai, Jiangsu and Zhejiang Provinces

Permitted Ports of Entry/Exit: 


Jiangsu Province: Zhejiang Province:
shanghai 144-hour visa-free transit

Read the visa-free transit policy in Shanghai, Jiangsu, and Zhejiang for more details.

Region 3. Guangdong Province

Permitted Ports of Entry: 

Permitted Ports of Exit

Region 4. Liaoning Province

Permitted Ports of Entry/Exit: 

Region 5. Shandong Province

Permitted Ports of Entry/Exit: 

Region 6. Sichuan Province (only certain areas allow visa-free stays)

Permitted Ports of Entry/Exit: 

Permitted Visa-free Stay Areas: Chengdu, Leshan, Deyang, Suining, Meishan, Ya'an, Ziyang, Neijiang, Zigong, Luzhou, Yibin

Region 7. Yunnan Province (only certain areas allow visa-free stays)

Permitted Ports of Entry/Exit: 

Permitted Visa-free Stay Areas: Kunming, Lijiang, Xishuangbanna, Yuxi, Pu'er, Chuxiong, Dali, Honghe, Wenshan

Other Regions: Chongqing, Xian/Xianyang, Wuhan, and Xiamen

Visa-free Permitted Ports of Entry/Exit: 

Permitted Visa-free Stay Areas: The 144-hour visa-free transit in Xian/Xianyang, Wuhan, Chongqing, and Xiamen is limited to the specific port cities where visa-free entry is permitted. Travelers are not allowed to visit other locations within or outside of the province.

Requirements for a 144-Hour Transit Visa in China

1. You must hold a passport from one of the 54 eligible countries, valid for more than 3 months.

2. You must be in transit to a third country or region (not the same country you arrived from). Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan belong to the third region. 

For example, the USA to Shanghai to Hong Kong is acceptable for a 144-hour transit visa in Shanghai. But the USA to Shanghai to the USA, or the USA to Hong Kong to Shanghai is not qualified.

3. Your transit time is no more than 144 hours (from the first 00:00 hours after you enter).

4. You enter and leave from one of the eligible ports of entry.

5. You can travel only around the eligible areas or cities within 144 hours. But you cannot go to other cities or areas in China.

For example, if you get to Shanghai, you can only travel around Shanghai, Jiangsu, and Zhejiang areas. If you arrive in Beijing, you can only travel around Beijing, Tianjin, and the Hebei area.

6. You will not have any stopovers.

144h visa free transit route
144h visa-free transit routes

Feel free to tell us your queries if you need any tour help.

How to Calculate the 144 Hours?

On arrival at one of the entry points, eligible foreign passengers will be issued a temporary entry permit by immigration officials. You can stay in a certain region without a China visa for up to 144 hours.

The 144 hours start from 00:00 hrs immediately following the time of entry.

For example, if you enter Chengdu at 6:00 am on May 1, 2024, your stay period starts counting down from 00:00 on May 2. So you can stay until 23:59 on May 7.

So you may stay longer than 144 (but less than 168) hours, depending on arrival and departure times.

If you want, we can help you to create a 144-hour visa-free tour to make the best of your time and meet your interests. 

What Documents Necessary for 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit?

How to Apply for 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit? - Just 6 Easy Steps

1. Inform your carrier agent that you wish to use a 144-hour visa-free transit at check-in.

2. Complete and submit the Arrival/Departure Card when you arrive at the China border.

3. Pass through the 144-hour visa-exemption transit inspection channel.

4. Present your tickets, passport, and arrival card to the immigration officer, stating your intention for visa-free transit.

5. Claim luggage and go through customs as normal.

6. Depart from the designated port before midnight on the sixth day and submit the departure card at security inspection.

144h visa free transit application
144h visa-free transit application

Plan a Visa-free Transit Tour to China

We are here to help you plan your visa-free transit tour to China. We can customize a tour for you to make the most of your 144 hours in China. Just tell us your plan and we will do everything for you. 

More Articles on China Visa

Create My Trip

Need Help?

Request a custom itinerary today and get one step closer to your personalized trip

Create Your Trip